How to eliminate a defender with left dribbling

My personal goal for this season is to improve my ability to eliminate defenders. As a left wing I dream of being able to do the nifty move shown in this clip from Lee Bodimeade, head coach for the US field hockey team. It’s about dribbling on the left, one handed and jinking the ball over the defenders stick – followed up ideally by a lovely shot on goal.Very advanced – but I can dream! It’s also great to know what the experts can do to get past those annoying hefty defenders when they are coming at you. Click on this link below to see Lee Bodimeade’s video clip. I particularly like the way this clip uses illustrations over the top of the film to show you precise positioning.

Click here to link to video: left dribbling to eliminate defender

 

Author: Liz Hollis

I am a journalist, media and content consultant.