Jamie Dwyer’s secret weapon? Tape near the heel of his hockey stick

This is interesting. At 1:46 mins into this youtube clip, Jamie Dwyer mentions that he puts a bit of tape near the heel of his stick. “I put a little bit of tape on my stick to get that softness of the feel, he says.

It’s across at a diagonal and I wanted to know more so I contacted Jamie Dwyer’s company JDH. A quick tweet did the trick along the lines ‘Wondering what sort of tape and what it’s for?’

Here’s the reply…

that is just medical strapping tape commonly used for injuries. It is placed just above the stick head for cushioning traps.

Capture jamie dwyer

Let me know if you’ve tried this – I’d like to know what you think about whether it works for you or not?

https://plus.google.com/103224565414900693469/posts

Author: Liz Hollis

I am a journalist, media and content consultant.